Promicon Systems

Easy integration

In the field of mechanical and system engineering networked devices are indispensable parts of the overall structure. This offers significant cost advantages on the one hand, on the other hand functions can be realized, which are hardly conceivable without networking. However, the offered network systems have very different characteristics and are normally not compatible to each other. To provide links between different network types, there is a need for a special gateway – but this is cost intensive and often subjected to any restrictions.

Portability

To integrate VariMotion into different networks, there are corresponding network connections available. This allows VariMotion to get linked directly with conventional control systems. Created programs to control the motion and the process can be adopted without or only with minimal change. This facilitates the transmission to other systems and safes investments in application programs.

Relief of the PLC

As VariMotion is able to perform motion and functional processes autonomously and in high speed, this is an ideal instrument to relief a superior PLC (or computer) of time-critical or compute-intensive tasks.

Another advantage is that sub processes can be decoupled in terms of time and thereby the system topology becomes more clearly and is easier to handle.

Promicon Systems

Einfache Integration

Im Maschinen- und Anlagenbau sind vernetzte Geräte ein unverzichtbarer Bestandteil der Gesamtstruktur. Dies bringt einerseits wesentliche Kostenvorteile, andererseits können Funktionen realisiert werden, die ohne Vernetzung kaum denkbar sind. Die angebotenen Netzwerksysteme weisen jedoch sehr unterschiedliche Merkmale auf und sind in der Regel nicht miteinander kompatibel. Um Verbindungen zwischen verschiedenen Netzwerktypen herzustellen, bedarf es spezieller Gateways, die jedoch kostenintensiv und zumeist mit Einschränkungen verbunden sind. Hieraus resultiert die Forderung, dass Geräte direkt an verschiedene Netzwerktypen anschließbar sind.

Portierbarkeit

Um Varimotion in unterschiedliche Netzwerke zu integrieren, stehen entsprechende Netzwerk-Anschaltungen zur Verfügung. Hierdurch kann Varimotion direkt an gängige Steuerungen und PCs angekoppelt werden. Erstellte Programme zur Steuerung der Bewegungen und des Prozesses können übernommen und müssen nicht oder nur minimal geändert werden. Dies erleichtert den Übergang zu anderen Systemen und schützt Investitionen in Anwendungsprogramme.

Entlastung der SPS

Da Varimotion in der Lage ist, Bewegungs- und Funktionsabläufe selbstständig und mit hoher Geschwindigkeit auszuführen, ist dies ein ideales Werkzeug, um eine übergeordnete SPS (oder Rechner) von zeitkritischen und rechenintensiven Aufgaben zu entlasten.

Ein weiterer Vorteil besteht darin, dass Teilprozesse zeitlich entkoppelt werden und hierdurch die Anlagentopologie übersichtlicher und leichter zu handhaben ist.